The Best Wellness Books of July 2018

Take a peek at our list of this month's must-read wellness books.

Here’s our curated list of wellness books that are bringing us joy this July. We made this month’s list easier for you to navigate by breaking it into categories (Be Confident, Get Calm, Get Healthy, Be Joyful, Be Bold, and Get Creative) so you can focus on the areas that align with your goals. Well, what are you waiting for? It’s time to thrive! Pull up a chair poolside, and dive into these inspiring titles so you can start creating the life that was meant to be yours.

More: 21 Books for Your Best Summer Ever

 

BE CONFIDENT

 

1. Like She Owns the Place

by Cara Alwill Leyba

The author of Girl Code shares how she came to her inner sense of confidence. It wasn’t from being an acclaimed author or being skinny or being rich. Confidence came when she let go of judgment and committed to a series of choices to truly accept herself. She’ll show you the way!

 

 

 

2. The Art of Abundance

by Dennis Merritt Jones

Being confident in your ability to bring abundance into your life takes practice. This book makes it doable with ten rules (or practices) to follow in your day-to-day life. The rules are clearly outlined with the premise, the problem, the principle, the practice, and the payoff of each.

 

 

 

3. The Healing

by Saeeda Hafiz

This is the story of a young African-American woman who healed her family trauma by finding her own strength within. She rose up the corporate ladder only to realize that it was yoga, travel, and alternative medicine that would set her free.

 

 

 

GET CALM

 

4. Calm the Chaos Journal

by Nicola Ries Taggart

Journals can be intimidating. We know they’re good for us, but where do we start? This is a truly unique journal because it frames your entries into “Today” and “Tomorrow” — helping you celebrate today and let it go before planning your tomorrow with clarity, purpose, and joy.

 

 

 

5. Stop Biting the Tail You’re Chasing

by Anyen Rinpoche and Allison Choying Zangmo

You don’t have to be a Buddhist to benefit from lojong, the practice of detaching from both negative and positive emotions. Learn how to break free of habitual emotional patterns. Discover the calm space that comes when you train your mind to witness your emotions in a new way.

 

 

 

6. The Road to Walden

by Kevin Dann

This is such a fun idea: the author of Expect Great Things shakes up his life and travels from Manhattan to Walden Pond to retrace the steps of Henry David Thoreau. He distills his journey into 12 “injunctions” — stories that encourage us to let go of convention and find our own way.

 

 

 

 

GET HEALTHY

 

7. Salad Feasts

by Jessica Elliott Dennison

Salads don’t have to be a blah side dish. They can be perfect meals unto themselves. This cookbook shows you how to do it — with easy ingredient combos (toasted nuts, chewy grains, crumbled cheese) and delish recipes that’ll have you making salad for dinner more often.

 

 

 

8. The Omega Principle

by Paul Greenberg

A journalist who sets out to explore our obsession with Omega-3s learns about the environmental damage being done in order to harvest the marine life that’s boiled down to create Omega-3 oil. Omega-3s may be good for our heart health, but at what cost to the planet?

 

 

 

9. Happy Food

by Bettina Campolucci Bordi

The beauty of this book is that you don’t have to commit to going vegan in order to get a lot out of it. Maybe you just want to get more veggies into your diet. Either way, you’ll find what you need here. And the shortcuts offered are judge-free life-savers, designed for your busy life.

 

 

 

10. Living Forever Young

by Skip Archimedes

Living Forever Young is about living in your body in a way that’s free, light, happy, and healthy. The author takes you through 10 steps — Breathe, Move, Nourish, Rest, Love, Shine, Believe, Learn, Commit, and Live — with loads of simple practices for each step.

 

 

 

11. Your Brain on Plants

by Nicolette Perry and Elaine Perry

This comprehensive guide will help you harness the power of plants to address whatever ails you. Learn how to reduce stress, improve sleep, increase your energy, and improve your brain health with plants you may already have in your fridge.

 

 

 

BE JOYFUL

 

12. A Handful of Happiness

by Massimo Vacchetta and Antonella Tomaselli

This is the story of an orphaned baby hedgehog and the Italian veterinarian who adores her. Cutest animal love story ever! He cares for little Ninna like a child and finally has to let her go. The life-affirming lessons he learns along the way will fill your heart with joy.

 

 

 

13. The Kindness Pact

by Domonique Bertolucci

Do you ever wonder how it is that you can be so critical and mean to yourself but so kind to those around you? The Kindness Pact shares the power of “Eight Promises” based on commitments to quiet that inner critic and gently encourage you to be kinder to your sweet self.

 

 

 

14. Your Second Life Begins When You Realize You Only Have One

by Raphaëlle Giordano

For fans of Eat, Pray, Love, a charming, feel-good novel about a Frenchwoman with a perfect life — husband, child, job — who realizes she wants something more. She follows a new path, transforms her life, and learns a lot along the way as she explores her authentic path to joy.

 

 

 

BE BOLD

 

15. Rad Girls Can

by Kate Schatz

Feeling a little low and slow? These stories are the perfect antidote. With paper-cut art that made the author’s first two books bestsellers, this title highlights stories of diverse young women from around the world whose bold feats will lift and inspire you.

 

 

 

16. Give People Money

by Annie Lowrey

UBI (Universal Basic Income) is a radical idea with huge consequences: the government deposits money into your (and everyone’s) bank account with no expectations. Find out why conservatives and Bernie supporters alike are talking about UBI.

 

 

 

17. The Odd 1s Out

by James Rallison

James Rallison takes us through some fan-favorite comics to chronicle his life as a shy teen turned young adult YouTube star. His stories are funny and relatable, reminding us to live boldly even when we feel like the odd one out.

 

 

 

GET CREATIVE

 

18. The Ultimate Brush Lettering Guide

by Peggy Dean

In today’s gadget-obsessed world, a timeless art like calligraphy will give you a much-needed break from screen time and allow you to tap into your natural creativity. For newbies and seasoned calligraphers alike, this guide features templates and modern takes on brush lettering.

 

 

 

19. Useless Magic

by Florence Welch

Never-before-seen lyrics, art, and poetry from the musician behind Florence and the Machine. Whether you’re a super fan of the band or a poetry lover, you’ll appreciate this intimate glimpse into a true artist’s heart and mind. It’s creativity in its rawest form.

 

 

 

 

 

Photo Credit: Shutterstock

 


Share this Post